Congratulations to Abby Curling Classic Cashspiel Winners

The Abbotsford Curling Classic was another great success this year. Excellent teams from BC were pitted against some of the best teams from elsewhere in the world. For full details, please visit the event web page.

Congratulations go out to Team Moiseeva (Victoria Moiseeva, Uliana Vasilyeva, Galina Arsenkina and Julia Guzieva, St. Petersburg Russia) on capturing the Ladies Title. They defeated Team Pewarchuk in the final.

On the men’s side, Team Montgomery (Jason Montgomery, Cameron de Jong, Miles Craig and William Duggan, Victoria, BC) captured the title by defeating Team Geall in the final.

Our manager, Kent Bird, was largely responsible for organizing this event, and a huge thanks to him! And of note was the fact that he was called in at the last minute by the Geall team, and held his own with some of the best curlers in the world! He could easily have been on the winning team had the last shot of the event played out a bit differently!

The curling was excellent, as was the Grey Cup party held in conjunction with the final and the dance held on Saturday night.

A huge THANK YOU to all the volunteers who made this event such as success.